Carlton Road Academy
Carlton Road Academy is an academy converter in Boston for pupils aged 3 to 11. It has 458 pupils on roll. The latest Ofsted rating for Carlton Road Academy is Good, from an inspection in July 2025. In 2025, 53% of Year 6 pupils met the expected standard in reading, writing and maths.
Ofsted inspection: July 2025. KS2 results: 2025.
| Type | Primary / Academy converter |
| Age Range | 3-11 |
| Religion | Does not apply |
| Address | Carlton Road Boston Lincolnshire PE21 8QX |
| Phone | 01205364674 |
| Reference Number | 138751 |
General Makeup
| Number of pupils | 458 |
| Boy/Girl ratio |
Boys: 48.47%
Girls: 51.53% |
| Percentage of students eligible for free school meals | 41.6% |
| Percentage of students where English is not their first language | 64.8% |
Class Sizes
| Average size of one teacher classes | 30.6 |
| Average size of Key Stage 1 classes taught by one teacher | 29.4 |
| Average size of Key Stage 2 classes taught by one teacher | 31.4 |
Year Groups
| Year | Boys | Girls | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 28 | 28 | 56 |
| 2 | 38 | 21 | 59 |
| 3 | 33 | 29 | 62 |
| 4 | 32 | 32 | 64 |
| 5 | 27 | 36 | 63 |
| 6 | 26 | 37 | 63 |
Ethnicities
| Ethnicity | Percentage |
|---|---|
| White, Other | 51.5% |
| White, British | 30.6% |
| African | 5.5% |
| Mixed, Other | 2.6% |
| Indian | 2.4% |
| Pakistani | 2% |
| Asian, Other | 1.3% |
| Unclassified | 0.7% |
| Chinese | 0.4% |
| White & Asian | 0.2% |
| Irish | 0.2% |
| Caribbean | 0.2% |
Carlton Road Academy is a welcoming primary academy where pupils are happy, feel safe and benefit from positive relationships and strong pastoral support. This was its first routine section 5 inspection since 2014, and the school is part of the Voyage Education Partnership; under current arrangements it receives judgements for each area rather than an overall effectiveness grade. Inspectors found good quality of education, behaviour and attitudes, leadership and management, and early years provision, with personal development judged outstanding. Leaders have built a broad, well-sequenced curriculum and prioritise reading, including daily story reading and high-quality books. Pupils with SEND are well supported, and early years language development and outdoor learning are strengths. Pupils' personal development is exceptional, with strong opportunities for responsibility, careers awareness and understanding of respect and tolerance. Safeguarding is effective, and staff value trust training and consideration of workload. However, phonics teaching is not consistently delivered, so some pupils do not learn to read as well as they could. In some subjects, the key knowledge pupils need is not specified clearly enough, meaning learning does not always build on prior knowledge. Persistent absence remains too high, including for disadvantaged pupils, and the school needs to sustain its work to change attendance culture.
| Overall Ofsted Rating | Good |
| > Quality of education | Good |
| > Behaviour & Attitude | Good |
| > Personal Development | Outstanding |
| > Leadership & Management | Good |
| > Early Years Provision | Good |
| Last Report Date | 10 Jun 2025 |
| Date | Report |
|---|---|
| 10 Jun 2025 | School inspection |
| 17 Sep 2014 | Full inspection: |
| 15 Jan 2013 | Interim assessment |
| 02 Oct 2012 | Academy conversion letter |
| 17 May 2010 | Full inspection: |
| Previously as Boston Carlton Road Primary School | |
| 08 May 2007 | Full inspection: |
| 06 Feb 2002 | Full inspection |
Strengths
- Welcoming school with positive relationships and pupils who feel safe and happy
- Strong reading culture with high-quality books and daily reading for pleasure
- Early years language development is a clear focus and staff model vocabulary well
- Significant improvements to the early years outdoor area support physical development
- Pupils with SEND receive appropriate, individualised support and achieve well
- Curriculum is well sequenced from early years to Year 6
- Pupils have positive attitudes, listen well and are polite
- Personal development is exceptional, including pupil responsibilities and careers awareness
- Pupils achieve well from their starting points in a diverse community where many speak English as an additional language
- Trust provides appropriate support and challenge, and staff training is valued
- Safeguarding arrangements are effective
Areas for Improvement
- Phonics teaching is inconsistent, so some pupils do not become confident, fluent readers as quickly as they could
- In some subjects, key knowledge is not specified clearly enough, so learning does not build cumulatively
- Persistent absence rates remain too high, including among disadvantaged pupils
How many students meet the standards
| Reading, Writing & Maths | School Score | Percentile (local) | Percentile (nationwide) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pupils meeting the expected standard | 53% | Locked: unlock for £9.99, one-off payment | Locked: unlock for £9.99, one-off payment |
| Pupils meeting a higher standard | 0% | Locked: unlock for £9.99, one-off payment | Locked: unlock for £9.99, one-off payment |
Average Scaled Score
Results are converted into scaled scores to allow accurate comparisons of performance over time even if the difficulty of the test varies over time. Scaled scores range from 80 to 120.
| Subject | School | Percentile (local) | Percentile (nationwide) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading | 104 | Locked: unlock for £9.99, one-off payment | Locked: unlock for £9.99, one-off payment |
| Maths | 103 | Locked: unlock for £9.99, one-off payment | Locked: unlock for £9.99, one-off payment |
Progress Scores
A progress score is a way to measure how well a student progressed in comparison to other students of a similar starting ability. A score of zero means would mean that a student made the same progress as others that had a similar starting a ability. A positive score would mean that the student made more progress than other students of similar starting ability. The scores below are for the whole school so is the average progress score across all students.
| Metric | School Score | Percentile (local) | Percentile (nationwide) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading | -0.8 | Locked: unlock for £9.99, one-off payment | Locked: unlock for £9.99, one-off payment |
| Writing | 0.2 | Locked: unlock for £9.99, one-off payment | Locked: unlock for £9.99, one-off payment |
| Maths | 0 | Locked: unlock for £9.99, one-off payment | Locked: unlock for £9.99, one-off payment |
How many students meet the standards
Sample
UnlockAverage Scaled Score
Results are converted into scaled scores to allow accurate comparisons of performance over time even if the difficulty of the test varies over time. Scaled scores range from 80 to 120.
Sample
UnlockProgress Scores
A progress score is a way to measure how well a student progressed in comparison to other students of a similar starting ability. A score of zero means would mean that a student made the same progress as others that had a similar starting a ability. A positive score would mean that the student made more progress than other students of similar starting ability. The scores below are for the whole school so is the average progress score across all students.
Sample
UnlockUnlock Premium
See how Carlton Road Academy ranks locally and nationally. Percentile rankings against every other school, historic result charts, admissions data and post-GCSE destinations are all included.
£9.99 one-off payment. Lifetime access, no subscription.
Unlock for £9.99Reception admissions, 2026 entry
Locked: unlock for £9.99, one-off payment
| Number of Applications | Number of Offers | |
| First Preference | Locked: unlock for £9.99, one-off payment | Locked: unlock for £9.99, one-off payment |
| Second Preference | 25 | 0 |
| Third Preference | 13 | 0 |
| From another Local Authority | 0 | 0 |
Previous years
Sample
UnlockPlaces and pupil numbers
In 2024–25 Carlton Road Academy had 423 pupils for 420 places. That is 3 more pupils than the school has room for.
Pupils and places
Reception intake in the “Boston West Primary” planning area
Lincolnshire counted 314 Reception pupils in this area in 2024–25 and forecasts 299 in 2029–30, down 5%.
| 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019 | 2021 | 2022 | 2023 | 2024 | 2025 | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Places | 420 | 420 | 420 | 420 | 420 | 420 | 420 | 420 | 420 | 420 | 420 | 420 |
| Pupils | 419 | 418 | 417 | 423 | 426 | 425 | 414 | 402 | 419 | 417 | 424 | 423 |
| Unfilled | 0.2% | 0.5% | 0.7% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 1.4% | 4.3% | 0.2% | 0.7% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
Admissions: local authority offers data from the Department for Education. A school is oversubscribed when at least 5% of the families who put it first were not offered a place, and undersubscribed when everyone who put it first got in but 10% or more of its places were unfilled in the Department's school capacity survey (the latest survey is used for entry years it does not cover). Places: Department for Education, School capacity, from local authorities' annual survey as at 1 May. Each year is the one the school year ends in (2025 is 2024–25); the survey was not run in 2020. Places include sixth form places. Forecasts are the local authority's own for the school's planning area, an area it uses to plan places that is not the school's catchment area. The forecast starts from a head count in 2025; the dashed line is the Department's estimate of places in that area, including those the authority has firm plans for. Planned places are cumulative, and only those with firm plans are counted.
In 2024–25 pupils at Carlton Road Academy attended 94.2% of sessions (the national figure for primary schools was 94.8%). 18.9% of pupils were persistently absent, missing at least one session in ten (nationally 13.0%).
Sessions missed
Pupils persistently absent
| 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019 | 2021 | 2022 | 2023 | 2024 | 2025 | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Authorised absence | 4.4% | 4.6% | 3.7% | 3.4% | 3.4% | 3.0% | 4.4% | 5.6% | 5.9% | 5.3% | 4.1% |
| Unauthorised absence | 1.9% | 2.0% | 2.2% | 1.8% | 2.2% | 1.3% | 2.6% | 3.1% | 2.7% | 2.1% | 1.6% |
| Severely absent pupils | 0.0% | 0.8% | 0.3% | 1.8% | 2.3% | 1.3% | 3.8% | 3.8% | 2.7% | 0.8% | 0.3% |
Source: Department for Education, Pupil absence in schools in England. Each year is the one the school year ends in (2025 is 2024/25). Persistent absence means missing 10% or more of sessions; severe absence means 50% or more. No figures were published for 2019/20.
In 2024–25, 0.9% of pupils at Carlton Road Academy were suspended at least once (nationally 1.1%). No pupils were permanently excluded.
Pupils suspended at least once
| 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019 | 2020 | 2021 | 2022 | 2023 | 2024 | 2025 | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Suspensions per 100 pupils | 1.8 | 1.1 | 0.4 | 0.4 | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.2 | 0.0 | 0.2 | 0.7 | 0.0 | 0.0 | 1.8 |
| Permanent exclusions | 2 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Source: Department for Education, Suspensions and permanent exclusions in England. Each year is the one the school year ends in (2025 is 2024/25). A pupil can be suspended more than once, so suspensions per 100 pupils can be higher than the share of pupils suspended. Very small numbers are hidden by the DfE. Exclusion figures dropped in 2020 and 2021 because of school closures.
In 2025–26 Carlton Road Academy had 22.4 pupils for each teacher (the national figure for primary schools was 20.7). Of its teachers in 2024–25, 4.7% were no longer at the school a year later (nationally 15.7%).
Pupils per teacher
Teachers who left the school within a year
| 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019 | 2020 | 2021 | 2022 | 2023 | 2024 | 2025 | 2026 | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pupils per adult | 9.0 | 8.1 | 7.9 | 8.6 | 8.4 | 10.1 | 10.0 | 9.9 | 10.4 | 12.6 | 12.4 | 11.2 | 10.2 | 9.9 |
| Teachers who left state teaching | 4.8% | 7.6% | 11.8% | 0.0% | 5.9% | 26.1% | 8.3% | 5.0% | 8.3% | 3.6% | 3.2% | 10.0% | 4.7% | – |
| Teachers who took any sick leave | – | 61.3% | 57.7% | 57.7% | 5.0% | 66.7% | 85.0% | – | 65.0% | 95.0% | 90.5% | 95.5% | 87.0% | – |
| Sick days per teacher | – | 3.5 | 4.2 | 4.7 | 0.3 | 6.5 | 4.6 | – | 6.7 | 10.1 | 6.8 | 9.0 | 4.2 | – |
Source: Department for Education, School workforce in England. Each year is the one the school year ends in (2025 is 2024/25). Pupils per teacher counts full-time-equivalent pupils and teachers. Turnover is the share of a year's teachers (full-time equivalent) who were not at the school the following year, whether they moved to another school or left state-funded teaching. Turnover and sickness figures run one year behind the ratios. Sick leave is the share of teachers who took at least one day in the year, so it swings widely at small schools, where a few teachers can make it 0% or 100%. The national figures are for all state schools of the same type.
In 2025–26, 12.7% of pupils at Carlton Road Academy were on SEN support (nationally 15.4%) and 3.9% had an education, health and care (EHC) plan (nationally 4.1%).
Pupils by main type of need
| SEN support | EHC plan | |
|---|---|---|
| Speech, language and communication needs | 36 | 14 |
| Moderate learning difficulty | 13 | 0 |
| Social, emotional and mental health | 6 | 1 |
| Autistic spectrum disorder | 1 | 1 |
| Physical disability | 0 | 2 |
| Severe learning difficulty | 1 | 0 |
| Vision impairment | 1 | 0 |
Source: Department for Education, Special educational needs in England (the 2025–26 school census). SEN support is extra help in school without an EHC plan. National figures are for all state-funded primary schools. Counts are as published, with small numbers not hidden.
In 2024–25 Carlton Road Academy received £8,040 and spent £7,488 for each of its 446 pupils. It ended the year with reserves of £782,000 (£1,754 per pupil).
Across all 11 schools of Voyage Education Partnership, income was £8,516 and spending £8,053 per pupil.
Income per pupil
Spending per pupil
| 2019 | 2020 | 2021 | 2022 | 2023 | 2024 | 2025 | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue reserve | £803,000 | £804,000 | £813,000 | £769,000 | £805,000 | £696,000 | £782,000 |
| per pupil | £1,896 | £1,931 | £1,989 | £1,768 | £1,826 | £1,563 | £1,754 |
| In-year balance | £303,000 | £145,000 | £90,000 | £193,000 | £45,000 | -£195,000 | £246,000 |
| per pupil | £716 | £347 | £221 | £444 | £102 | -£438 | £552 |
Source: Department for Education, Financial Benchmarking and Insights Tool. Each year is the one the financial year ends in (2024 is 2023–24). Academy figures include a share of the trust's central services, shared out by pupil numbers, and are rounded to the nearest £1,000. Premises costs were defined differently from 2024, so compare them across that gap with care.
| Name | Distance |
|
Staniland Academy
Peck Avenue, Boston, Lincolnshire, PE21 8DF |
0.38 miles |
|
Boston Pioneers Free School Academy
Fydell Crescent, Boston, Lincolnshire, PE21 8SS |
0.43 miles |
|
Park Academy
Robin Hoods Walk, Boston, Lincolnshire, PE21 9LQ |
0.54 miles |
|
Boston West Academy
Sussex Avenue, Boston, Lincolnshire, PE21 7QG |
0.75 miles |
|
Tower Road Academy
Ashlawn Drive, Boston, Lincolnshire, PE21 9PX |
0.91 miles |
|
Saint Mary's RC Primary Academy Boston
Ashlawn Drive, Boston, Lincolnshire, PE21 9PX |
0.97 miles |
|
Boston Nursery School
Church Road, Boston, PE21 0LJ |
1.03 miles |
|
St Nicholas CE Primary Academy
Woad Farm Road, Boston, Lincolnshire, PE21 0EF |
1.17 miles |
|
St Thomas CofE Primary Academy
Wyberton Low Road, Boston, Lincolnshire, PE21 7RZ |
1.31 miles |
|
Hawthorn Tree School
Toot Lane, Boston, Lincolnshire, PE21 0PT |
1.87 miles |
|
Wyberton Primary Academy
Saundergate Lane, Wyberton, Boston, Lincolnshire, PE21 7BZ |
1.95 miles |
|
Fishtoft Academy
Gaysfield Road, Fishtoft, Boston, Lincolnshire, PE21 0SF |
2.91 miles |
|
Kirton Primary School
Station Road, Kirton, Boston, Lincolnshire, PE20 1HY |
3.59 miles |
|
The Butterwick Pinchbeck's Endowed CofE Primary School
School Lane, Butterwick, Boston, Lincolnshire, PE22 0HU |
3.9 miles |
|
West Fen Primary School
West Fen Drainside, Boston, Lincolnshire, PE22 7EX |
3.92 miles |
|
Gipsey Bridge Academy
Leagate Road, Gipsey Bridge, Boston, Lincolnshire, PE22 7BP |
4.31 miles |
|
The Sibsey Free Primary School
Main Road, Sibsey, Boston, Lincolnshire, PE22 0RR |
4.64 miles |
| Name | Distance |
|
The Boston Grammar School
South End, Boston, Lincolnshire, PE21 6JY |
0.62 miles |
|
Haven High Academy
Marian Road, Boston, Lincolnshire, PE21 9HB |
0.68 miles |
|
Boston College
Rochford Campus, Skirbeck Road, Boston, Lincolnshire, PE21 6JF |
0.89 miles |
|
Conquest School
34 Ashlawn Drive, Boston, Lincolnshire, PE21 9PX |
0.99 miles |
|
Boston Endeavour Academy
Kitwood Road, Boston, PE21 0PX |
0.99 miles |
|
Bridge House Independent School
Grantham Road, Boston, Lincolnshire, PE21 7NL |
1.14 miles |
|
Boston High School
Spilsby Road, Boston, Lincolnshire, PE21 9PF |
1.18 miles |
|
Aspiration House School
Aspiration House, Church Road, Freiston, Boston, Lincolnshire, PE22 0NX |
3.11 miles |
|
Oakwood House Independent School
Oakwood House ( Woodlands Court), Boston Road, Kirton, Boston, Lincolnshire, PE20 1DS |
3.48 miles |
|
Thomas Middlecott Academy
Edinburgh Drive, Kirton, Boston, Lincolnshire, PE20 1JS |
3.94 miles |
All schools in Boston · Lincolnshire local authority: places and applications
Carlton Road Academy is part of Voyage Education Partnership, which runs 11 schools. The nearest others:
- Staniland Academy Boston
- Boston Pioneers Free School Academy Boston
- Park Academy Boston
- Haven High Academy Boston
- Fishtoft Academy Boston
- Old Leake Primary Academy Boston
- Gosberton Academy Spalding
- Helpringham Primary Academy Sleaford
- Gedney Church End Primary Academy Spalding
- Wygate Park Academy Spalding
What is Carlton Road Academy's Ofsted rating?
The latest Ofsted rating for Carlton Road Academy is Good, from an inspection in July 2025.
When was Carlton Road Academy last inspected by Ofsted?
Carlton Road Academy was last inspected in July 2025.
How many pupils does Carlton Road Academy have?
Carlton Road Academy has 458 pupils on roll.
What age range does Carlton Road Academy cover?
Carlton Road Academy for pupils aged 3 to 11.
What are Carlton Road Academy's SATs (KS2) results?
In 2025, 53% of Year 6 pupils met the expected standard in reading, writing and maths.
Where is Carlton Road Academy?
Carlton Road Academy is at Carlton Road, Boston, Lincolnshire, PE21 8QX.